Need AC help before i go crazy - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 05-21-2013, 05:34 PM Thread Starter
nmckay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Need AC help before i go crazy

I have a 1988 jeep wrangler with AC. I need to refill it with R12 since the previous owner had it emptied and checked for leaks but did t want to pay the $$$$ to refill it. I do not want to convert as r12 blows much colder and I have some cans saved up. I have refilled my share of r134s and I do all the mechanical work in my cars. So I'm not retarded when it comes to getting under the good. So then why the hell can't I find the port to refill my ac???? I have followed the compressor line to the firewall with no luck. I checked under the dash too just to amuse myself. Nothing. I followed the line from the firewall to the evaporator. Still no luck. So here are some pics and maybe you guys can help before I look like an idiot in person. Hahahahaha

The last pic with the valve cover off is what I think it might be.

Attached Thumbnails
image-1637078570.jpg   image-4237833302.jpg   image-365853894.jpg  
nmckay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 05-21-2013, 05:41 PM
Mobile_Homie
Desert Rat
 
Mobile_Homie's Avatar
1994 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Winnemucca, NV
Posts: 1,411
Um, right there on top of your compressor? Dust caps are on in the first pic and the one on the right is removed in the third pic...

Mark



Smoke em if you got em!

Click here
Mobile_Homie is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 05-21-2013, 05:45 PM Thread Starter
nmckay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Yeah I hooked my can up to the one with the dust cap removed and ran the engine for 15 minutes. Still have a full can. Nervous to try it on the other.
nmckay is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 05-21-2013, 07:25 PM
superj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: corpus christi
Posts: 7,057
You have to open the valve after you hook the can to it. Off the top of my head, I cannot remember how but get a closer shot of your compressor fill point and it will remind me. The pic is to far
away to Jog my memory

I don't feel like working on anything at this time so i sold my yj.
superj is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 05-21-2013, 07:27 PM
superj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: corpus christi
Posts: 7,057
Never mind, yours is the newer style. Does the clutch engage when you turn the ac on with the freon attached? It won't suck anything in if the clutch doesn't engage on the compressor. If its not coming on, jumper the wire to engage it an it will suck the freon in

I don't feel like working on anything at this time so i sold my yj.
superj is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 05-21-2013, 07:37 PM Thread Starter
nmckay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Yeah my brain finally kicked in and I realized the compressor wasn't engaging. Jumped the compressor and all is good now. Thanks for all the help guys!!!
nmckay is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 05-21-2013, 07:53 PM
czjeeper
Registered User
1992 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Woodland
Posts: 1,506
Was the system under vacuum?

US Army combat vet
2011 Grand Cherokee Laredo 3.6
Armed Forces Jeeps Member #125
Red Jeep Club Member #251

In the Portland/Vancouver area? Check 'em out! Piston's Wild Motorsports Club

Click here for 2.5L AX5 to AX15 swap
czjeeper is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 05-21-2013, 08:06 PM
superj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: corpus christi
Posts: 7,057
No, he had to engage the compressor to get a vacuum to pull the freon from the can

I don't feel like working on anything at this time so i sold my yj.
superj is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 05-22-2013, 11:33 AM
deermjd
Registered User
1992 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by superj View Post
No, he had to engage the compressor to get a vacuum to pull the freon from the can
What I believe czjeeper was asking is "Was a vacuum properly pulled on the system using a vacuum pump?". This should always be done before filling an empty system to remove moisture, noncondensable gases, or other contaminants in the system.

94 ZJ Laredo (sold)
98 ZJ TSI (sold)
92 YJ 4.0
deermjd is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 05-22-2013, 11:54 AM Thread Starter
nmckay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
No I didn't pull a vacuum. I just jumped the compressor to get enough freon for the compressor to run on its own. After filling the system the compressor kicks on as soon as I switch it to ac. And my ac is blowing ice cold, just the way I like it.

I'm sure there are steps I should have taken such as making sure there is no moisture in the system first. My theory was that the system was drained and checked for leaks before winter and hasn't been opened since so I just went for it. If it takes a **** on me this summer I will be taking it to a professional.
nmckay is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome