My LS1 Project - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > My LS1 Project

Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 05-20-2009, 08:58 AM   #1
glennsea

My LS1 Project

I just obtained an LS1 and tranny from a 98 Z28 to install in my 88 YJ. I am new to this so have a lot to learn. This will be a daily driver, mostly road use, little offroading.

What else should I be look at or thinking about to start this?

I don't want to hotrod it too much so am thinking of doing the following upgrades in the near future.
• CAM - LS6 cam.
• Intake - LS6 or aftermarket manifold with NOX fittings.
• Headers - limited due to space and steering shaft. Would like long tube but not sure if this is possible.
• Fuel pump - it is my understanding that I need a positive pressure fuel pump which can be installed in the cell. IS it possible to install one inline on the fuel line outside of the cell?
• Engine mounts - looking at the Novak kit. I would be fine with something like the Advanced Adapter bolt on saddle mount as I don't weld but I don't see a model for the LS1.

glennsea is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-20-2009, 09:34 AM   #2
mikebigh

1987 YJ Wrangler 

An LS1 is a 350, you have the aluminum new school 350. So, just get a motor mount kit you like thats fits a 350(or 5.7) and your good. There are tons of write ups, build threads for people that have done 350 swaps on this board. You can search me out and see the progress, and problems people had. Good luck.
Unread 05-20-2009, 09:44 AM   #3
Plato2k5
1988 YJ Wrangler 

LS1 is a great engine ... even if its a Chevy ha ha.