Mudding with Body Lift? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Mudding with Body Lift?

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~Advance Adapters SYE Kits

Unread 10-09-2002, 12:36 AM   #1
Mastaman65

Mudding with Body Lift?

Well its just about time for things to get muddy and I was just wondering since I didn't get into it too much last year if taking my jeep out and getting it dirty would be a good idea. I'm just a college student who's looking to have a good time on the weekends I've got a 91' sahara with 3" body lift and 33x12.5 tires and was wondering if my jeep will be much more prone to having parts break due to my body lift? Seeing as how tuition is where most of my cash is going I can't spend a whole lot on my jeep, I just wanted to hear your guys/girls opinions! Thanks for any help

Mastaman65 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 10-09-2002, 06:53 AM   #2
RodeoRob

I don't see a body lift causing any problems... assuming it was of course installed correctly. If you're gonna damage something its gonna be because of the mud itself, so i'd consider that before you go diving through every mud hole you see.

Mud has a way of working itself into places that it shouldn't be and most automotive parts and mud don't mix well... mud isn't the best lubricant for bearings and alternators are particularily vunerable. Also, your engine doesn't breath too well on mud/water, so make sure to keep your intake above the surface.

If you're gonna hit the mud, make sure to give your Jeep a good cleansing afterwards (this includes the engine compartment). And also realize, going muddin can become awful expensive fast.

-Rob