Mud ruins paper filters - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Mud ruins paper filters

Metalcloak: Celebrate Freedom with Free ShippingThe Cure for your Tie Rod Roll!FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome Effect

Unread Yesterday, 12:02 AM   #1
rustisexpected
1990 YJ Wrangler 

Mud ruins paper filters

So I have the Motorcraft carb and an Edelbroch filter. I have been staring at this filter for 3 years while building this jeep. I was looking for an alternative to get away from the vulnerability of the open paper filter. Does anyone have info on this intake? I'm not really interested in the whole cold air intake, just the part that would cover the carb, and then plumb it into an airbox. Any help is appreciated. And if I am asking a noob question i appologize, but i can't find much on the google machine. Thanks in advance guys.

dsc08003.jpg

rustisexpected is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread Yesterday, 02:44 AM   #2
Drednot
Web Wheeler

1991 YJ Wrangler 

That reminds me of a cold air intake, and the stock intake "scroll" from a V8 Grand Cherokee or Dodge pickup.

Search "Durango air hat"

Id take measurements and a template to a "pic a part" salvage yard , and scrounge around.

I have an idea floating around in my head about retrofitting a KDX style intake out of a forklift intake assembly or Japanese cabover diesel intake. The forklift gear looks more compact for underhood duty.

Drednot is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread Yesterday, 03:51 AM   #3
Rebel442
1989 YJ Wrangler