JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   YJ Wrangler Technical Forum (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f12/)
-   -   Lockers (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f12/lockers-1512417/)

smartin1 04-21-2013 11:46 AM

Lockers

I want to put lockers on my yj but I know nothing about installing them I only know the purpose, can someone lead me in the right direction if this is something I can do myself, what to buy, what tools I'm going to need how much money I'm going to be into this for And keep in my I have zero experience with differential gearing. I have a dana30 in front and dana35 in rear

Wrangler11 04-21-2013 11:52 AM

Try searching. If you've never installed a locker or referred you probably don't want to try and do it yourself.

roadyrob 04-21-2013 12:57 PM

a lunchbox locker is doable even for a rookie, checkout aussie or spartan. there are some videos on youtube that will show you whats involved.

Anticanman 04-21-2013 02:24 PM

You don't want to lock the rear. Well, the rear you have currently. The Lunchbox locker idea is great for the front but without knowing anything about your jeep let alone your wheeling habits or locations we can't help. Throw out a little more info and fill in your profile and then let's try this again.

smartin1 04-21-2013 02:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Anticanman
You don't want to lock the rear. Well, the rear you have currently. The Lunchbox locker idea is great for the front but without knowing anything about your jeep let alone your wheeling habits or locations we can't help. Throw out a little more info and fill in your profile and then let's try this again.

Why don't I want to lock the rear?

grnd93 04-21-2013 02:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by smartin1

D35 is a notoriously weak axle and locking it only adds stress. But many other factors come into play such as tire size and driving style.