Lifting my yj? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Lifting my yj?

Premium LED Lighting by VISION X, Proudly sold at ROCKRIDGBds fox ipf 2.0 racing series shocks now available at rockEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 09-13-2011, 03:11 PM   #1
wranglergirlyj

Lifting my yj?

Just got my yj, I had a cherokee and I'm new to the jeep world I wanna lift my jeep four inches, any suggestions on the cheapest way to lift my yj?

wranglergirlyj is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-13-2011, 03:15 PM   #2
TheNewbie
1995 YJ Wrangler 

To answer your question, the cheapest 4" lift for a YJ is the Rough Country kit. It's cheap for a reason though. It rides rough and sags fast. Ask me how I know.

RC has a great warranty but you WILL have to use it.

My suggestion would be to spend a little bit more and piece together a set of 2.5" Old Man Emu springs and run them with some 5/8" shackles and a 1" BL if you want to be at 4". I went with the 4" RC kit and after a couple years I'm switching over to the setup described above.

BDS also makes some 3.5" springs that you would be very happy with. But if you just want to lift it on a budget and not worry about quality then RC is by far the way to go.

You can also think about other ways to fit bigger tires. Lifting is not your only option. You can do flat fenders or install TJ flares and trim the sheet metal to fit larger tires without as much lift. I went with TJ falres in the rear and flat fenders up front. The TJ falres are good for an inch or 2 and the flat fenders are probably goof for at least 3" of clearance.

My build thread...
I've got a shotgun, a rifle and a four wheel drive...
TheNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote