Let me know if I'm a fool - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Let me know if I'm a fool

RCV Axles at CCORPoison spyder items @ oconee off road 706 534 9955Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 07-24-2013, 12:23 PM   #1
jhalden
1995 YJ Wrangler 

Let me know if I'm a fool

Hello everybody, it's been a while since I've posted here. I am a broke college student transferring to UC Davis this Fall. School is so damn expensive I am trying to pinch every penny I can. My 95' YJ 4.0L has been leaking anti-freeze for a while, so recently when I was having an exhaust leak fixed I also had the mechanics do a pressure test on my radiator. They said it was completely shot and it would be $400 something to fix it (too much in my opinion).

I contacted an auto wrecking yard about a radiator, and they told me it would be $130 for a refurbished radiator. I don't know much about cars but everything I've ever heard about radiators is just replace it don't try to repair it.

I don't go 4wheeling anymore so I don't need any performance type equipment. I want to replace my radiator with a comparable one and not have to break the bank. Most I find on the internet are over $200 but I came across one on JC Whitney for $96, then 10% off and free shipping. This seems awfully nice but I am doubtful as to why it is so much cheaper. My cheap nature wants me to buy this one, but I feel I am not educated enough to make that decision (worried that I may regret it later).