jeep wont start - Page 8 - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #106 of 113 Old 02-09-2013, 01:39 PM
fourbtgait
Registered User
1930 MK Patriot 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 779
Quote:
Originally Posted by JCashen

Yeah. I just picked up the bigger diode. Going to soulder it here shortly.

Although if it is running with key off and I yank the connect of the little red wire to the 12v it turns off. When I check the wire it only has power when key is on.

I might extend the wires into the cab and put them on a switch.
The red wire that switches the box on?
It should have power at crank and run

Sent from my iPad using JeepForum

fourbtgait is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #107 of 113 Old 02-09-2013, 02:08 PM
fourbtgait
Registered User
1930 MK Patriot 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 779
Mines up and running.
I noticed the msd changed my timing some so had to reset that.
Have vacuum gauge hooked to manifold vacuum now to run engine diagnostics

Sent from my iPad using JeepForum
fourbtgait is offline  
post #108 of 113 Old 02-09-2013, 02:26 PM Thread Starter
JCashen
Registered User
1990 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by fourbtgait View Post
Mines up and running.
I noticed the msd changed my timing some so had to reset that.
Have vacuum gauge hooked to manifold vacuum now to run engine diagnostics

Sent from my iPad using JeepForum
I still need to get one of those. From what I read they're an invaluable tool.

Does your jeep sound different after the msd? I swear mine sounds louder.
JCashen is offline  
 
post #109 of 113 Old 02-09-2013, 02:43 PM
fourbtgait
Registered User
1930 MK Patriot 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 779
Quote:
Originally Posted by JCashen

I still need to get one of those. From what I read they're an invaluable tool.

Does your jeep sound different after the msd? I swear mine sounds louder.
Lol, it might sound a little throatier or stronger.
I just posted in the CJ forum a question about my vacumm readings. All seemed good but one reading seems off a bit.
Its taken me 35 years to finally use a vacuum gauge and I am amazed at what it can tell you.

Sent from my iPad using JeepForum
fourbtgait is offline  
post #110 of 113 Old 02-09-2013, 04:31 PM Thread Starter
JCashen
Registered User
1990 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by fourbtgait View Post
Lol, it might sound a little throatier or stronger.
I just posted in the CJ forum a question about my vacumm readings. All seemed good but one reading seems off a bit.
Its taken me 35 years to finally use a vacuum gauge and I am amazed at what it can tell you.

Sent from my iPad using JeepForum
I won't be able to pick one up until next week, but I'm going to start reading up on how to use a vacuum gauge. Seems like the simplest tool that provides the most benefit.

I finally got the bigger diode soldered in. Turning off and on like a champion. Now to just wait for the new carb.

Do you think it would be hard to wire the red power for the MSD into the cab and put a switch on it? What would be needed and would it be an effective kill switch?
JCashen is offline  
post #111 of 113 Old 02-09-2013, 04:33 PM
fourbtgait
Registered User
1930 MK Patriot 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 779
Quote:
Originally Posted by JCashen

I won't be able to pick one up until next week, but I'm going to start reading up on how to use a vacuum gauge. Seems like the simplest tool that provides the most benefit.

I finally got the bigger diode soldered in. Turning off and on like a champion. Now to just wait for the new carb.

Do you think it would be hard to wire the red power for the MSD into the cab and put a switch on it? What would be needed and would it be an effective kill switch?
If it runs/turns off now, why?
You can put a switch on the white wire to ground as a kill switch. Msd tells how. Just put the switch under the dash.

Sent from my iPad using JeepForum
fourbtgait is offline  
post #112 of 113 Old 02-09-2013, 04:54 PM Thread Starter
JCashen
Registered User
1990 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by fourbtgait View Post
If it runs/turns off now, why?
You can put a switch on the white wire to ground as a kill switch. Msd tells how. Just put the switch under the dash.

Sent from my iPad using JeepForum
I didn't know you could use the white wire as a kill switch, sounds a lot easier.

What did you end up gaping your plugs too?
JCashen is offline  
post #113 of 113 Old 02-09-2013, 05:26 PM
fourbtgait
Registered User
1930 MK Patriot 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 779
0.45
fourbtgait is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome