Jeep Tutorial - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Jeep Tutorial

Savvy Billet LED Tail LightsLight up the holidays with LED lights from JeepHutIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 12-16-2014, 07:45 PM   #1
wichoarriaza
1989 YJ Wrangler 

Jeep Tutorial

Hello guys,

I am new with Jeeps, I own a 1993 YJ 4.0 Automatic and a 1989 YJ 4.2 Manual.

If anyone can help me with the specs or tutorial about engines, transmissions, axels, brakes, differences, etc on these models it would be deeply appreciated.

I would also like to know what is the best way to improve the performance on my automatic transmission since I have 33x12.5R15 tires and it just wont stop shifting up and down while I drive. Guess its because of the tire size.

Thanks

wichoarriaza is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-16-2014, 08:39 PM   #2
Louie4
Powah Injanir

1993 YJ Wrangler 

The Frequently Asked Question Thread is a good place to start for YJ information.

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f12/y...-first-580536/

As for the transmission, I would change the fluid and add a stand alone cooler. Then start looking into axle gear ratios based on your engine and tire size.

I have a jeep...and it is modified...I win.

YJOTM July 2012
YJOTM February 2014

Louie4's YJ Build
Poison Spyder Fender Install
Warn M8000 Rebuild Adventure
University of Georgia
Louie4 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-16-2014, 08:46 PM   #3
ROWA

1994 YJ Wrangler 

Check the FAQ section there is a lot of useful information about specs. Your shifting problem is related to your gear-ratio, with an auto and 33" tires a 4.56 would be the ideal solution.