Jeep shuts off while driving, HELP PLEASE! Huge mystery! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Jeep shuts off while driving, HELP PLEASE! Huge mystery!

FS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options! Clayton Off Road JK Short Arm Suspension Kits~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~

Unread 10-21-2009, 10:15 AM   #1
Apollo12227
Web Wheeler

1992 YJ Wrangler 

Jeep shuts off while driving, HELP PLEASE! Huge mystery!

The Problem
Hey guys i'm new to the blog, and i'm getting despirate. I've got a 92' wranger YJ with the 4.0, and i've got an issue with it shutting off while driving, i'll drive maybe a quarter mile and the engine just dies, no stumbling or anything, just off, like someone flipping a switch. Sometimes I can get a quarter miles, other times I get 10 feet out of the driveway.

What i've done so far...
From what i've seen in the threads the Crank Position Sensor (CKP) causes this almost 100% of the time, problem is, I put a new one in there, jeep worked for 3 days then started doing it again, so I bought another 40.00 one from advance and it had no effect, then I bought the 120.00 one strait from the dealer in fear of other's being crappy parts, no change... I replaced the entire distributor including cap, rotor, coil, stator, plugs, wires, and EVERYTHING else electrical, i've taken appart the relay box to check for burnt wires/corrosion, nothing, I replaced the Automatic Shutdown Relay, the Crank position sensor, the MAP sensor, and throttle position sensor, NO CHANGE... I've checked the fuel pressure and even hooked up a $800 computer to my jeeps ECM and it only gave me code 11... which for a YJ is just "ignition" for anything past 96 it referes to the crank sensor...

More wierdness...