Intermittent Speedometer issue - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old Yesterday, 04:44 PM Thread Starter
BadPanda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 26
Intermittent Speedometer issue

Have a weird issue that hopefully you guys can shed some light on with my 95 YJ 4.0. For about the last year or so, my speedometer has been acting up. When first driving it the speedometer will not move for maybe a couple miles or so and then it would kick to life and stay alive/accurate until I turn the car off. Sometimes if the car was still warm it would work again on the next start up, but if I let it sit for a bit the speedo would not read until a number of miles into the next drive. When the problem first started, it the speedo would kick in before getting out of my neighborhood. With time I would have to keep driving farther and farther for it to start working. All the other gauges/lights work.


Spinning the gear with a drill does not make the speedo move


What I have done so far..
Replaced the VSS
Replaced speedo gear

I removed the cluster to check the copper wiring and the only pathway that has a little scuffing looks to be going to the lights and not the 3 prongs of "IGN/SP or GND". I tried the eraser anyways and had no luck.

Besides blindly swapping the cluster, can anyone else think of something? I have not tried to trace the wiring from the VSS.

Thanks for any advice

Attached Images
 

Last edited by BadPanda; Yesterday at 07:14 PM.
BadPanda is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old Yesterday, 05:53 PM
jtec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 536
what model year?


OK as you spin the gear Is the VSS generating a signal?
jtec is online now  
post #3 of 7 Old Yesterday, 06:13 PM Thread Starter
BadPanda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 26
1995, will edit the first post to reflect that.

When you say generating a signal I am guessing that you mean making the speedo move, it is not.
BadPanda is online now  
 
post #4 of 7 Old Yesterday, 06:31 PM
rocketboy
Senior Member
 
rocketboy's Avatar
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Houston
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadPanda
1995, will edit the first post to reflect that. When you say generating a signal I am guessing that you mean making the speedo move, it is not.
I think he means if you hook a meter up to it, does it generate a signal.

Seems like there are three things that could be the problem: the VSS isn't generating a signal, the speedo is broken, or there's a wiring problem somewhere in between.

So the first step would be to figure out if the VSS is generating a signal.

___________________
1989 YJ - 4.0L
2001 WJ 4.0L
rocketboy is online now  
post #5 of 7 Old Yesterday, 06:57 PM Thread Starter
BadPanda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketboy View Post
I think he means if you hook a meter up to it, does it generate a signal.

Seems like there are three things that could be the problem: the VSS isn't generating a signal, the speedo is broken, or there's a wiring problem somewhere in between.

So the first step would be to figure out if the VSS is generating a signal.
Gotcha, with the speedo cluster removed and jeep running I am getting around 6.5 volts on the orange wire and around 4.5 on the white/orange.
BadPanda is online now  
post #6 of 7 Old Yesterday, 10:20 PM
rocketboy
Senior Member
 
rocketboy's Avatar
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Houston
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadPanda
Gotcha, with the speedo cluster removed and jeep running I am getting around 6.5 volts on the orange wire and around 4.5 on the white/orange.
So I think you need to spin the gear and see if you get a change.

___________________
1989 YJ - 4.0L
2001 WJ 4.0L
rocketboy is online now  
post #7 of 7 Old Today, 07:02 AM Thread Starter
BadPanda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 26
Alright, I am confused then. I can measure the readout up by the cluster for both those wires while spinning the gear, but how am I to do it down by the VSS if everything is plugged in? I suppose that I could remove a chunk of the wire insulation, or am I totally missing something?

Edit: Found this for anyone looking in the future, gonna play around

http://jedi.com/obiwan/jeep/instclust/
BadPanda is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (2 members and 1 guests)
BadPanda , TSEJEEPERS
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome