Ignition Switch Actuator Rod - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Ignition Switch Actuator Rod

December Specials at Jeephut.comROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO Alloy usa heavy duty ball joint kits

Unread 08-04-2011, 08:41 PM   #1
Mistry
1988 YJ Wrangler 

Ignition Switch Actuator Rod

Hello, I'm a newbie to the forum and this is my last hope, my jeep wrangler 1988 ignition switch actuator rod is not moving and need help on how to fix it. I have replaced the key locking cylinder and ignition switch module and the movement is still smooth when I turn the key locking cylinder and no start. Reaching up under the dash I can move the rod by hand only. Can not figure out how to get the lower shroud off to get to the rod and what to do next. It has a tilt steering wheel column. Can anyone help me? Thank You

Mistry is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-04-2011, 09:15 PM   #2
Old4X
1990 CJ7 

The rod has likely popped out of place either at the top or down on the switch itself.

Does the engine start and run if you move the rod by hand?

If so, the rod has popped out of the little gear in the top of the steering column.

You will have to pull the steering wheel and start taking stuff apart till you see the little cam shaped toothed gear. The rod snaps into this gear, the gear is turned by the housing holding the key lock.
Unread 09-05-2011, 03:37 AM   #3
Mistry
1988 YJ Wrangler 

After months of dead ends and no real help from the forum, I have figured it out. If you need help with your ignition problems call me at 925-360-3450 and I will talk you through it. I will not be on the forum. Be well
Mistry is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message