I need help: YJ bogging/idle-ing/rpm issues - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > I need help: YJ bogging/idle-ing/rpm issues

XJ Rail Sale!The Ruffstuff NOT Universal 4 Link Kit!Vanco Big Brake Kit Promotion!

Unread 05-10-2012, 05:44 PM   #1
YJDice

I need help: YJ bogging/idle-ing/rpm issues

Let me start by saying I am new to the jeep world, and may not know the correct terminology, but I have no problem getting my hands dirty and fixing what needs to be done.

I own a 1990 YJ Wrangler, 2.5l. I am pretty sure my carb is a TBI. It seems to have all original stock mechanical parts, and ran like a champ. My gas tank had a leak so I needed to fix it. My buddy owned a larger custom gas tank and he claimed specified for jeeps. While changing the gas tanks, we realized that some of the hoses coming from my jeep didn't match that ones on the fuel tank, so we bought larger bulk hoses and connected them with adapters. We re-installed the new tank, not knowing that inside the new tank their was no fuel pump.

We proceeded to turn the key over for 30-35 mins while putting gas into the carb to try and create pressure (as my buddy insisted, along with jumper cables to keep the battery from draining). After a while I was frustrated and said no fuel was running through the lines. I was right because their was no fuel pump inside the new tank.