I just started the rebuild on my YJ.. - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 11-09-2010, 01:50 PM Thread Starter
YJLover
1991 YJ Wrangler 

I just started the rebuild on my YJ..

I can't say I am a pro but I have my Chilton manual and a prayer. Right now I have Dana30/35's, front and back respectively, geared to 3.07. The Jeep is an I-6, 4.0L 5 speed manual. So my question is this to all you experts out there.. What is the most effective way to go about rebuilding and what is a nice modification to make to the Jeep when rebuilding? As in, what size tires, gear ratio, suspension lift/body lift, etc. Would it make sense to ditch the current axles and find something else? Are there other vehicles beside the YJ that offer interchangeable parts to the YJ? I don't want to lose my shirt either.. Any info. would help.. I have 6 months to get her done in time for spring.. I've had the Jeep since I was 16 (now 28), went into the Marines, brought her to the East and West coast, deployed to both crap holes (had my bro watch her the last three years I was in and overseas), and I've now reacquired her from him.. Needless to say my brother didn't take care of her and even though I'm rebuilding her I found myself outside until 1AM taking all the squeaks and rattles out of her wherever I could find them last night.. This Jeep means a lot to me so I am hoping there is an expert out there that can guide me down the right path to doing this effectively, for cheap, but maintaining quality for what will inevitably become an off-road vehicle yearning the opportunity of dominating the paths..

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 11-09-2010, 02:04 PM Thread Starter
YJLover
1991 YJ Wrangler 

And there is the picture of her.. See what I mean? She's crying from below the windshield because my brother physically and emotionally abused her!
Attached Thumbnails
Jeep1.jpg  
post #3 of 16 Old 11-09-2010, 02:57 PM
Newfie_Jeeper
1987 YJ Wrangler