I dropped a 350cc crate motor in my 94 wrangler now i need some gauges...and ideas? - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 08-20-2011, 06:08 AM Thread Starter
blackhawk6656
Registered User
1994 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: LaFayette
Posts: 3
I dropped a 350cc crate motor in my 94 wrangler now i need some gauges...and ideas?

The stock ones dont work now and I was wondering if anyone else has ran into this issue

blackhawk6656 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 08-20-2011, 06:10 AM
dodger889
Registered User
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: mi
Posts: 4,160
The stock ones will work if you use the right sending units. Gm sending unit are backwards or different range from the jeep ones.

A 89 yj with a 4.0 aw4 sye out of an 92xj. Now the hard part is done time to get it up in the air just a bit. Working on 8.8 with 3.73 and lsd for the rear. and new D30 hp with 3.73 .
For those who have not figured this out I'm old school but can handle the new too.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigsquat View Post
im just cheap, and cheap makes you creative.
dodger889 is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 08-20-2011, 06:12 AM Thread Starter
blackhawk6656
Registered User
1994 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: LaFayette
Posts: 3
where can i get the right sendoing units
blackhawk6656 is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 08-20-2011, 06:33 AM
slowlowford
Registered User
1992 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 217
I would just use the factory Jeep ones. The gauges don't care what motor they're hooked to, they just take readings. You might have to get some different pipe adapters to get the sensors to fit, but they will work just fine.

4bt,NV4500,NP205 Twin,Soa,8.8,
slowlowford is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 08-20-2011, 06:55 AM
soonermatt
Registered User
1994 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 1,408
350cc motor? That's a bit of a downgrade from a 4 cylinder.
soonermatt is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 08-20-2011, 07:00 AM Thread Starter
blackhawk6656
Registered User
1994 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: LaFayette
Posts: 3
meant 350 ci
blackhawk6656 is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 08-20-2011, 07:56 AM
wildbadbill
Registered User
1994 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: houston
Posts: 137
did you do the work yourself,if not what was the $ damage?
wildbadbill is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 08-20-2011, 08:12 AM
leftlanetruckin
XJ on 37's
 
leftlanetruckin's Avatar
1998 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: missouri via blackpool,lancs.
Posts: 10,625
The stock gauges are crap, plain and simple.
The only way to get the tach to work correctly is to get a Dakota Digital converter. For that amount of money you can get a few gauges to go along with the new tach
I have used the stock gauges for oil pressure and temp, but figured out knowing true readings on a motor I just rebuilt and swapped in was more important than save a couple hundred $$ on some real gauges. The gauges cost less than half of what the machining bill was when I build the motors, so false economy IMHO.
I always replace the gauges after a motor swap myself. Not only are they more accurate than anything Jeep installed from the factory, they will work perfectly with a swapped in motor.

Martin

1998 XJ on 37's.JK Rubi axles with chromo shafts and ctm's, 4:1 transfer case, etc etc etc.
2003 Range Rover HSE, 4.4 Quad Cam.
1998 Range Rover with a 6.0 LSx
1994 YJ, 4.3/700R4/OME SOA, etc
Western Star 4900EX 4 axle.
4.3/700r4/new frame buildup (YJ)....
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f12/swap-offically-underway-324622/
leftlanetruckin is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 08-20-2011, 09:12 AM
hesserdude07
Registered User
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bloss, PA
Posts: 945
same as above. i have slowly been replacing my stock guages with aftermarket ones. I bought a 3 guage set from Auto zone and swapped them into my stock dash guage spots. And i have a cheapo sunpro tach for right now untill i can get another one and a speedo and swap them into the stock spots as well. But i dont drive mine everyday so i dont care how fast im going...

1993 Silver YJ. SBC 300hp. 700r4. NP231 hybrid. 35" Mud Terrains. 7" Toyota Basterd packs. 8.8 Welded. D30 loc-rite. 1" body lift. 4" LED tails. Custom bumpers. Warn M8000. Hella's. (Trail rig)
hesserdude07 is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 08-20-2011, 11:07 AM
eess
Registered User
1992 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: riverview
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by leftlanetruckin View Post
The stock gauges are crap, plain and simple.
The only way to get the tach to work correctly is to get a Dakota Digital converter. For that amount of money you can get a few gauges to go along with the new tach
I have used the stock gauges for oil pressure and temp, but figured out knowing true readings on a motor I just rebuilt and swapped in was more important than save a couple hundred $$ on some real gauges. The gauges cost less than half of what the machining bill was when I build the motors, so false economy IMHO.
I always replace the gauges after a motor swap myself. Not only are they more accurate than anything Jeep installed from the factory, they will work perfectly with a swapped in motor.

Martin
These work well with my 350. Autometer Phantom. Very accurate and not terribly expensive

How can I resize these images so I'm not taking up so much space?
Attached Thumbnails
004.jpg   003.jpg  

92 YJ, 350/350 Chevy, AX-15, Skyjacker 4", 4.10s, CJ style flat dash with Autometer Phantoms
eess is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 08-20-2011, 11:53 AM
Jabo
Registered User
1994 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 220
I used autometer gauges with my 350 swap.




Jabo is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 08-20-2011, 02:53 PM
Tom95YJ
[] Eye'd Jeep Connoisseur
 
Tom95YJ's Avatar
1999 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 9,467
Garage
I'm with the rest of these guys, When I helped my brother do the engine swaps in his Civic, and Supra all of the gauges were replaced with Autometer Sportcomp 2's , We were suprised by how off inaccurate all of the factory gauges were after we had did the gauge swaps, The Tach on the civic had a good 1second delay and was reading rpm 400 higher than the autometers, and the water temp was off on the civic also. The supra was off by a little but not as bad as the honda

'89 YJ The Smurf Build Thread
'99 XJ Black Betty Build Thread
Tom95YJ is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 08-20-2011, 05:24 PM
for-play
Registered User
1991 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Fl
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jabo View Post
I used autometer gauges with my 350 swap.




That looks good!!
for-play is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 08-20-2011, 06:15 PM
leftlanetruckin
XJ on 37's
 
leftlanetruckin's Avatar
1998 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: missouri via blackpool,lancs.
Posts: 10,625
Our old YJ...
gaugesweb.jpg
I never bothered painting it to match.
Switches were for rock lights and incab winch controller.

Martin

1998 XJ on 37's.JK Rubi axles with chromo shafts and ctm's, 4:1 transfer case, etc etc etc.
2003 Range Rover HSE, 4.4 Quad Cam.
1998 Range Rover with a 6.0 LSx
1994 YJ, 4.3/700R4/OME SOA, etc
Western Star 4900EX 4 axle.
4.3/700r4/new frame buildup (YJ)....
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=324622
leftlanetruckin is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 08-21-2011, 12:28 AM
Bigyellow4x4
Registered User
1990 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Moses lake
Posts: 1
Were are the piece they mount to coming from making it or buying it?
Bigyellow4x4 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
help new crate motor not starting warnerwrangler TJ Wrangler Technical Forum 6 01-25-2011 03:54 AM
possible problem with brand new ATK crate motor? suresperance TJ Wrangler Technical Forum 18 10-31-2010 10:20 PM
Best place to buy a 4.0L crate motor BigMikeATL Wrangler General Discussion 4 10-07-2009 11:17 AM
Crate Motor Question jeepaholic91 YJ Wrangler Technical Forum 3 07-16-2009 08:59 AM
chevy 305 crate motor swap jeffrey919r1 YJ Wrangler Technical Forum 17 10-06-2008 12:36 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome