How-To on Replacing Clutch Master Cylinder on 1992 YJ? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > How-To on Replacing Clutch Master Cylinder on 1992 YJ?

ECGS Black Friday Sale!!6th Annual, Beat Your Wife to the Credit Card Sale!50 in light bar /A pillar mount less than 500 at JeepHut.c

Unread 10-14-2012, 01:04 AM   #1
papotter
1992 YJ Wrangler 

How-To on Replacing Clutch Master Cylinder on 1992 YJ?

I'm having trouble getting my YJ into gear. When I bought the vehicle (used) a year ago my mechanic noted that the clutch master cylinder leaks and should be replaced. I checked the fluid level tonight and it's almost dry, so I'm going to try to replace it as a first step.

I'm a novice maintenance guy (to date, have replaced the alternator, starter motor, belts and hoses) and the steps in the Haynes guide aren't very descriptive. Could someone point me in the direction of a decent how-to?

Also, should the 'slave' cylinder also be replaced at this point, and does this require dropping the transmission? My tools and gear are limited so hopefully replacing the master cylinder can be done in my garage without a mechanic.

Was planning to buy this one to replace:
http://www.oreillyauto.com/site/c/de...aster+cylinder

papotter is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 10-14-2012, 01:18 AM   #2
bigbossd1030
1995 YJ Wrangler