How-to: Replace your cracked exhaust manifold - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > How-to: Replace your cracked exhaust manifold

Flowmaster Discount Code! Thank you JeepForum Members!!!!!Truc-Lite LED Headlights! OCONEE OFF-ROAD 706-534-9955Labor Day Sale!

Unread 07-04-2010, 05:26 PM   #1
Sleuthhound
1991 YJ Wrangler 

How-to: Replace your cracked exhaust manifold

The exhaust manifold on my 91 4.0L YJ was badly cracked, making a nice loud popping sound and generally making it sound like I'm running a diesel. I'm a fairly amateur mechanic so I was fairly nervous going into this repair. If I can do it, any of you can do it.

My equipment list:

- Good selection of sockets & wrenches
- Flathead screwdriver
- Needlenose pliers
- Brake cleaner / wd-40 & shop towels
- rubber mallet
- patience
- pack of cigarettes

Time: 9.5 hours. Yes, really. I had a good 2.5 hours of screwing around, and had I a better idea in my head of what to do, it would have taken less time. If I had to do this again, I'm relatively confident I could do it in 4 hours.

I ordered my manifold from 1AAuto for $130 USD. It arrived in a couple of days. It was packed very nicely, and looked pretty good. It came with the gasket, donut gasket, and flange bolts/nuts. I gave it a light sanding and acetone bath, then gave it 3 coast of rustoleum high heat black paint. Follow the directions on the paint, this stuff said to leave the item for 24 hours before applying heat to it. If you do this outside, there will be a couple ants and flies that likely go and get stuck to it. Don't worry, they'll burn off quickly enough.

-Disconnect negative battery cable