How many filters should there be? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > How many filters should there be?

Halloween Savings to die for!ZONE 4.25" combo lift for TJ available at Rockridge4wNEW!! HMF 50"-52" light bar mounting brackets!!

Unread 11-24-2011, 10:12 PM   #1
evilbetty
1988 YJ Wrangler 

How many filters should there be?

Need some help redoing my fuel line. I'm fairly new to JEEP love, and still learning so please forgive my ignorance. The previous owner did a lot of rigging and, near as I can tell, not always for the best. Anyways, '88 YJ w/ stock carb...

First ? is... How many fuel filters should I have? Following from the tank the first filter I run into is on the pass side of the engine.

This seems to be right before some type of "exchange", if you will, on the side of the engine. (BTW, what is that part?) From there the line crosses the top of the engine towards the carb where we find this one:

So what should I actually have going on here?

Also, when I went to purchase a new filter I received one with what I'm guessing is a return line. However my current filters don't appear to have that, but the T on top of my tank does have a connection with no hose going to it (pointing towards the pass side I believe). Should I also have a return line?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

evilbetty is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-24-2011, 10:25 PM   #2
89yjsahara258
1989 YJ Wrangler 

First off, you only need the one filter that is by the carb.
The exchange I believe you are talking about it the fuel pump.