Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

how do you RTV?

2K views 30 replies 16 participants last post by  fishadventure 
#1 ·
So crazy odd question. How do you prefer to use RTV?

I'm hoping to actually start a SYE install next week, of course I've been saying that for the last several months and well... it seems life just keeps throwing me curve balls. Anyway, I've noticed on several instructional videos after applying RTV then smear it around then wait 1 hour before mating the case halves. Is that common procedure with RTV? In the past when I've used RTV (which I learned from my dad) the procedure goes like... squeeze it out and install the part. I can't recall ever seeing my dad smearing it or waiting an hour.

Just thought I'd ask before I wreak havoc on my case.

Oh, and yeah, as a follow-up.
I've seen videos where they use Red RTV or Black RTV, anyone ever use Green RTV for transfer case applications?
https://www.permatex.com/products/gasketing/gasket-makers/permatex-gear-oil-rtv-gasket-maker/

I'm just wondering if high temp is actually needed here or if I should use green instead?

Thanks in advance for comments and life lessons.

-Bear

See less See more
#2 ·
everyone has there own method, based on the individual successes respective to application. I'm almost all around on lubelockers now (which is how i prefer to use RTV :laugh: ). But before that, on my differentials, I would smear it (success). No success smearing on my transmission pan like EVER. Then again, I could never get the transmission pan to seal properly. (thankfully i am changing it out this week and going lubelocker on that).

Just did my SYE this past weekend, i ran a 3mm bead along one mating surface and around all bolt holes. Put the mating surfaces together and snugged the bolts til it just popped out. Left it there for an hour, then went in a torqued them. No leaks yet.

When i use to smear, i didn't wait the hour - i just torqued.