How do I get the side panel off? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > How do I get the side panel off?

Artec Flash Sale - 15% off and Free Shipping over $300Rugged Ridge Bumpers, Winches, Performance from CCOR!JK Front Axle Truss

Unread 01-01-2012, 06:25 PM   #1
mudsweatNgearz
1987 YJ Wrangler 

How do I get the side panel off?

I need to replace my door and entire left side panel after getting broadsided. How do I get the side panel off? Talking the entire side from just behind front wheel to the back corner panel. I have never done body work before so I don't even know where to start.

Unread 01-01-2012, 06:33 PM   #2
bharris68
1989 YJ Wrangler 

Can you show pictures? There are panels up front but the back is a Tub that I am aware of.
bharris68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-01-2012, 06:35 PM   #3
ZeroGravity
1991 YJ Wrangler 

First of all get a Haynes repair manual.

The sides are spot welded in place. You will need to drill out each spot weld in order to remove the panel.

These are both good resources for factory original body parts/restoring a tub:
http://www.classicent.com/jeep.php
http://www.quadratec.com/category/Je...s/41/index.htm
The U.S. Army vaguely envisioned something bigger than a motorcycle, smaller than a truck, and undaunted by the most difficult terrain.
ZeroGravity is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-01-2012, 06:36 PM   #4
ZeroGravity
1991 YJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by bharris68 View Post
Can you show pictures? There are panels up front but the back is a Tub that I am aware of.