how to check 4 wheel drive ? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > how to check 4 wheel drive ?

Rockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits BLACK FRIDAY SPECIALS!! You asked, we deliver!Rough Country Lift Kits and Parts!

Unread 07-30-2006, 05:39 PM   #1
badassf4i

how to check 4 wheel drive ?

What is the best way to check if the foor wheel drive is working properly? i am completely new to this awsome off road world and i have a lot of learning to do. O sorry i have a 1990 jeep wrangler with 3" body lift and 33x12.5 inch rubber.

badassf4i is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-30-2006, 06:06 PM   #2
daciuk55

you should be able to feel the extra power when you put it in four wheel drive , especially low range
4)1964 cj-5a
daciuk55 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-30-2006, 06:09 PM   #3
avh

Go wheeling, Get stuck.
avh is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-30-2006, 07:50 PM   #4
Tailwind

Hey Guy:

I have a 90 model like you. First, when you shift into 4wd, does your dash light (4wd) come on? When you shift the lever, shortly after you will hear a clink sound. You may have to drive a few feet in order to engage. If the light does not come on, and you do not here this "clink", your front drive is not engaged.

If so, many here on the forum will reccomend the posi-loc system, however I chose to put mine back stock. You will need to check the vacuum harness connecting to the front axle shift motor. Quadratec sells the shift motor for around $ 75.00, and the vac harness is about $ 50.00, from your local dealer. So it is really up to you: stock or modified, for about the same cost.