High engine idle....4000 rpm - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > High engine idle....4000 rpm

End of Summer Sale, 20% OFF!2007 - 2011 Jeep JK Long Arm Lift KitsIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 06-23-2013, 07:47 PM   #1
jathtal

High engine idle....4000 rpm

I changed the power steering pump the other day and touched nothing else under the hood. After the swap I turned the engine over and the engine is idling between 3500 and 4000 RPM. I have checked vacuum hoses, IAP, and throttle cable but all seem to check out okay. I am not that experienced when it comes to jeeps so I could be over looking something or completely oblivious to something. Any help? My jeep is a 1995 jeep wrangler 2.5 se model btw.

jathtal is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-23-2013, 08:41 PM   #2
Jambonez

Check for a intake gasket leak.
Jambonez is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-23-2013, 08:42 PM   #3
Jeepsr4me

Did you plug the power steering pressure valve back up? Its mounted to the hard line on the power steering
Jeepsr4me is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-24-2013, 11:09 AM   #4
jathtal

I did unplug the back up. Everything that I took off the old one is in place on this one.
Unread 06-24-2013, 11:20 AM   #5
pasinbuy
1994 YJ Wrangler 

Fill in your profile. Your problem is probably your tps. Remove it and clean it. See if that helps. Most likely replace.

Has nothing to do with the pump. Just bad timing for it to happen.
pasinbuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-24-2013, 11:40 AM   #6
Siva283
1995 YJ Wrangler