Help. Newbie. Clunking noise. Am i getting ripped off - Page 3 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Help. Newbie. Clunking noise. Am i getting ripped off

We have Engo 10k Synthetic IN STOCK!!! Hurry while supplieCustom Axle Work at CCORJEEP Gear Change Packages From ROCKRIDGE 4WD. We Are DIFF

Unread 03-19-2013, 06:28 PM   #31
ato500
1989 YJ Wrangler 

Im going to you guys for advice as I am a newbie and need to learn, sometimes by doing stupid things and getting crapped on for it. I may end up with the same exact issue, but I did find an axle with 4:10 gears that's in good shape and upgraded the axle shafts for a cheap price.. If it busts (or when it busts) I know it is a lesson, but it was a few hundred bucks vs more the other way.

New question- but same area. I know the Ax-5 trans sucks, or at least that's what I've been told. I am having issues with 1st and second there too, thinking of replacing with same thing, but would prefer something better if there is a bolt up option. I can replace with another ax-5 from same guy I bought axle from for $400 installed (he has military axles on his YJ and put in a big v8) does that make sense, or is there a better option that I can get for a little more money? I don't want to put thousands into it at one drop, although I know it will happen in time.

ato500 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-19-2013, 10:10 PM   #32
Flajeeper1
1987 YJ Wrangler