Help make my YJ safe, please! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Help make my YJ safe, please!

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineThe ULTIMATE "Selectable" Locker System! BroughFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Unread 06-27-2012, 08:56 PM   #1
Moops
1988 YJ Wrangler 

Help make my YJ safe, please!

Alright, I'm new to this whole Jeep thing. I posted another thread about my missing air filter, and got lots of other advice about my lift(s) that made me a bit anxious about the safety of my new project. So I'm going to post some pics I took today, and if you could give me some idea as to what, if anything, I need to do to keep it from falling apart as I'm driving down the road.

First, a couple of overview shots.

On the other thread I posted, a couple of members asked for some specific pics, so I'm posting them in here since the topic of that thread has been solved.

Overview of the 8.8.

Left-hand attachment point for the rear dif.

Same side.

Same side with the wheel off.

Right-hand side.

Rear driveshaft.

Transfer case attachment for rear shaft.

Looking forward at rear-side of T-Case.

Front spring shackle (driver's side).

I took it to a local 4x4 shop after I got it to make sure it was safe. It sat there for 2 months before he finally got around to working on it. Ultimately he just changed the front driver's side bearing and re-welded the spring attachment points to give me a better pinion/shaft angle.