Help ID this lift (or lack thereof - lots of pics) - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Help ID this lift (or lack thereof - lots of pics)

Savvy Aluminum Gas Tank SkidFS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options! Savvy/Currie Aluminum Control Arms

Unread 03-29-2010, 04:04 PM   #1
NateWithoutBeer
1993 YJ Wrangler 

Help ID this lift (or lack thereof - lots of pics)

Starting to get into doing some suspension maintenance/upgrades on my Jeep. I'm a novice, so bear with me...

93 YJ, 31x10.5 tires. There seems to be plenty of tire clearance so I would think there's some kind of lift going on here. It sags pretty badly in the rear drivers side due to a cracked leaf (see pic). Getting ready to replace all 4 leaves but not sure which way to go. Most replacements are 5 leaves, but the ones on here are 4. I'm thinking that maybe it's got one of those 1.5" or 2" leaf lifts going on? Also not sure if the shackles and u-bolts are factory or not (like I said, a novice).

Not sure if I need to install standard "replacement" springs (like these)or some lift-type springs (such as these). Not looking to lift it any more, just pick up the butt and stiffen up the ride a bit. I'd really appreciate any help you guys could offer.

Front driver's side

About 13 3/4" to bottom of front driver shackle

About 14" to bottom of front passenger shackle

Front passenger side

Rear driver's side about 15 1/4" to bottom of shackle

Rear driver's side

Rear driver's side again, note the busted bottom leaf

Rear passenger side

Rear passenger side again

Rear passenger side, almost 16" to bottom of shackle

NateWithoutBeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-29-2010, 04:24 PM   #2
Ingle47
1989 YJ Wrangler