Help! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Help!

Jeep Wrangler Hurricane Flat Fender Flare Kits for 2007-208.8 Swap Kit w/ TRUSS for JeepsPoison spyder items @ oconee off road 706 534 9955

Unread 08-16-2013, 02:36 PM   #1
jtrascritti
1988 YJ Wrangler 

Help!

Help me out guys, I'm a noob. I bought this off a kid and I'm not sure why it won't idle. I cleaned the tubes. It's an 88 wrangler 4.2 5-speed. I'll take a picture of the engine for you guys. I'm thinKing it has to do with the pcv system. Thanks!

Jamie

image-3109257683.jpg

image-3709173255.jpg

jtrascritti is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-16-2013, 02:38 PM   #2
jtrascritti
1988 YJ Wrangler 

A few more pictures

image-1375970616.jpg

image-792256789.jpg
Unread 08-16-2013, 03:21 PM   #3
XJ93
1995 YJ Wrangler 

Can you elaborate on "won't idle"? Rough, stalling, stumbling? What is it doing? Also looks like you are missing the forward vent on the valve cover.
XJ93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-16-2013, 03:28 PM   #4
Berniebikes
1988 YJ Wrangler 

Your engine is a 4.2L with the stock Carter BBD Carburetor, but a modified intake. You are missing at least some of the emissions components that the computer uses to run the engine. What I see is missing is the pcv system, the Thermal Electric Switch, the thermal vacuum switch, and the connections to the pulse air system. The eingie was a pre fuel injection system of vacuum lines, switches and sensors that controlled emissions. To understand the engine and these things go here

http://home.sprynet.com/~dale02/list.htm