gear set questions - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > gear set questions

The ULTIMATE "Selectable" Locker System! BroughRockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits WJ Modular Recovery & Bull Bar Relocation Packages

Unread 06-25-2007, 05:27 PM   #1
Nightcon777
1998 TJ Wrangler 

gear set questions

So after hearing some nasty clunks coming from the rear, I pulled to cover to take a look. I have never worked on gear before so this is all new to me. Once the cover was off I knew i had problems once I saw the metal pieces. Most of the teeth were pretty rounded off or broken. The ring and pinion looked fine and seemed to show no wear. Now what is the exact name of the small inner gears. Differential gear set? Spider gears? And how hard would it be to replace? I'm low on funds so I am trying to be on the cheaper side. Would I be better of with a junkyard part (350$) or just rebuild mine. Or should I take it to a shop and have them do it ( what is an average price) Thanks for any help

Nightcon777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-25-2007, 05:31 PM   #2
rustywrangler
Got my eye on you.....

Can't give alot here but, yes they are spider gears. If your up to the task, as long as your R&P is good, replacing the spiders isnt that difficult.

Congenital Heart Disease is a reality for me, BOTH of my children have it. Please read up and become aware for future generations

Lydia Ann-Acquired 08/05/05 Open Heart surgery 08/10/05
Jacob Patrick-Acquired 01/17/08 Open Heart surgery 02/15/08
rustywrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-25-2007, 05:48 PM   #3
Nightcon777
1998 TJ Wrangler