Fuel setup advice!!!! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Fuel setup advice!!!!

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRubicon Express Suspensions from CCOR 706-207-4140Smittybilt Hard Tops @ Oconee Off-Road! 706-534-9955

Unread 03-31-2013, 10:48 AM   #1
anthonywrangler

Fuel setup advice!!!!

Im new to the jeep community. Im not much of a off road kind of guy. Just always loved the rugged-ness of a jeep plus it usefull to tow my car to the track. Little bit og background. When i bought my 88 yj i went to do a oil change but 3 times they gave me the wrong oil filter. So i had them give me one for a 4.0L and it worked. So that lead me to beleive i have a 4.0L swap? Now i was thinking of going tbi or mpfi. I already got the research and or what parts i need to do a tbi. But after finding out that i might have a 4.0L motor should i just go with a 4.0L mpfi intake manifold? Whats needed to go this route. I spent so much time researching the tbi setup so this time i just figured i put the question out to the universe for the mpfi setup. O yes im not looking in going the mopar route.

anthonywrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-31-2013, 11:34 AM   #2
Que89YJ
Web Wheeler
1989 YJ Wrangler 

The amount of work needed to go to the TBI is more then going to the 4.0L if you have a donor system to get the parts from. The 4.2 and the 4.0L are essentially the same motor so it doesnt matter which way you go as far as the block is concerned just the amount of work and money. The 4.0L should be easier.
Que89YJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-31-2013, 04:54 PM   #3
anthonywrangler