frame rust repair - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > frame rust repair

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineSavvy Aluminum BumpersThe RuffStuff "I can't go to EJS" Sale!

Unread 06-02-2010, 11:39 AM   #1
sokr915

frame rust repair

Hey everyone, im new to the jeep world, and am about to pick up a 1995 yj for basically nothing, but part of the frame up front has a big hole in it and i was wondering what the best way to fix it would be, i have access to a welder. im thinking basically cut out the bad and replace with new metal, does anyone have any tips or suggestions to make this more smoothly, or know of where i can get steel to recreate the front of the frame?

here are some pictures
rusted frame

entire thing

thanks
Ryan

sokr915 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-02-2010, 12:31 PM   #2
monkeyhouse
1997 ZJ 

Quote:
Originally Posted by sokr915 View Post
Hey everyone, im new to the jeep world, and am about to pick up a 1995 yj for basically nothing, but part of the frame up front has a big hole in it and i was wondering what the best way to fix it would be, i have access to a welder. im thinking basically cut out the bad and replace with new metal, does anyone have any tips or suggestions to make this more smoothly, or know of where i can get steel to recreate the front of the frame?

here are some pictures
rusted frame

entire thing

thanks
Ryan
if you can weld that's a piece of cake...wish I could. They make that section that you can buy and weld it on. I know quadratrec sells all four ends. Just give them a call or check their site. I'm sure there are other companies that offer them too, I just happen to remember seeing them on quadratec. BTW, mine are the same way.