Fouled Plugs - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Fouled Plugs

New jk doors from steinjagerEliminate Hood Flutter!!!Thursday Savings Blast

Unread 05-20-2012, 05:56 PM   #1
CJ51973
1988 YJ Wrangler 

Fouled Plugs

I am fouling plugs pretty quickly. What do these pictures mean to anybody?

img_0361.jpg   img_0362.jpg   img_0363.jpg  
Unread 05-20-2012, 06:26 PM   #2
gunshw301
1994 YJ Wrangler 

I am no engine expert nor can help with a cause but it looks lean to me. Plug is getting to hot.
F/S Dana 35, 4:10, open make an offer, local pick up only, will not ship. 3-8-13

[URL="http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f22/my-94-b-g-yj-1034888/"]My 1994 yj build page[/URL]
gunshw301 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-21-2012, 08:48 AM   #3
CJ51973
1988 YJ Wrangler 

I am running a TFI with 12 volts to the coil. The ignition module is still stock voltage (use old coil (+) to trigger a relay for 12 volt coil voltage). Is this too much for the stock plugs? I bought some $7 each plugs which are warrantied, Autolite Iridium or something like that. Fouled Bosch Platinums and Champion Copper.
Unread 05-21-2012, 08:53 AM   #4
USMCBuckWild
1991 YJ Wrangler 

Don't laugh, but best luck I have ever had with plugs were the $.99 Champions or NGKs. I ran them with points as well as an MSD Digital 6 ign and they never failed me.

Check the temperature range the store gave you and ensure they didn't give you 'hotter' plugs.
USMCBuckWild is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-21-2012, 09:26 AM   #5
CJ51973
1988 YJ Wrangler