Ford 302 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Ford 302

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineToxic Brakes - 3000 PSI Braided Stainless Steel Brake LineCess Recovery Gear Snatch Tow Strap OffRoad @ ROCKRIDGE4WD

Unread 02-12-2002, 05:14 PM   #1
Josh Burrito

Ford 302

My teacher just sold me a ford 302 out of his F-150. He said he can give me the transmission too if I want it, but will it fit my Jeep? If not, what tranny will I need to buy?
Are there any other mods I need to make?

Josh Burrito is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-12-2002, 05:39 PM   #2
OldJeepguy
1979 CJ7 

The 302 will fit in there like it was made for it! There are many trans options and I'm not an expert here - (I run the NV4500)
Perhaps this will be some help:
Jeep trans

Advance Adaptors is another place that will have info on making stuff work.
Unread 02-12-2002, 06:24 PM   #3
Josh Burrito

Thanks for your reply... Are you using a ford 302? How do you know it fits so great? do you know if the ford tranny will work? if not which tranny should I buy?

Does anyone have any other useful information?
Unread 02-14-2002, 02:08 AM   #4
87JeepWrangler

Josh Burrito,
i havent done a swap yet, but i plan on it very shortly. anyway, i have done a TON of reading, and agree that that engine will fit well with an adaptor. as for the tranny, what are you looking for in a tranny, and what tranny did he sell you? ford trans's work good in jeeps because ford xfer case's use a drivers side drop for the front driveshaft. going with a ford drivetrain in a jeep allows for easy conversions because you dont need to buy expensive conversions from chevy(or other) to jeep xfer cases.