First Time Installing a Lift Kit... Tips and Suggestions - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > First Time Installing a Lift Kit... Tips and Suggestions

Artec Holiday Sale!Bead Lock Wheels! Raceline, Trail Ready, & Trail-GearROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail

Unread 06-10-2014, 09:41 PM   #1
scott45217
1990 YJ Wrangler 

First Time Installing a Lift Kit... Tips and Suggestions

Im putting a Skyjacker 2.5" lift kit on my YJ, any tips or suggestions to make the job easier. It's my first time doing suspension work, besides installing my own shocks.

scott45217 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-10-2014, 10:18 PM   #2
Opihi59
from here it gets rough

1993 YJ Wrangler 

Inventory all parts being installed and make sure they match what is supposed to be in the kit. Take pictures and measurements before and after. Spray down all fasteners you will be removing with PB blaster several times a day for several days before you begin the job. Do one side of one axle at a time. Lay out all the pieces to install alongside each corner in the proper orientation and with the proper fasteners/washers, etc. Take notes, follow the instructions, as questions. Take more photos, take more notes. Don't break out the beer until you are done with your job. Consider putting antisieze/grease on all fasteners. Final torque all fasteners to specification once the Jeep is on its own weight, sitting on the tires. Don't take risks, work in a flat area, don't substitute bricks for jackstands.

Fill out your PROFILE, and don't forget to look in the FAQ for writeups

I'm stuck on da Rock http://kamfamily.wordpress.com/2009/...waiian-limpet/

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian4.2 View Post