First jeep build on a budget - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > First jeep build on a budget

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LinePoison Spyder JK Evap SkidRockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits

Unread 02-18-2010, 07:59 PM   #1
yjripper
1990 YJ Wrangler 

First jeep build on a budget

I have just purchased my first jeep. a 1990 Yj 4.2. i want to build a capable rig but still road worthy. But being a college student i really cant afford to be dumping a bunch of cash in it right now

i was thinking a 4 inch rough country suspension lift
maybe 1 inch shackles and 34" interco tsl's

what else should i consider and does this sound like a decent setup

Thanks for the advice

yjripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-18-2010, 08:05 PM   #2
93jeepREDSOX
1993 YJ Wrangler 

Are you considering changing gears or beefing up your rear axle, with the 34's who knows what will happen to it. Mine blew up with 33's and just driving on the street.
1993 YJ 4" RE lift, 1/2" shackles, AA SYE Kit, 33x12.50 Trxus M/T, Warn bumbers front and rear, Warn M8000 winch, 4 Hella fog lights, Magnaflow cat, flowmaster muffler with no tailpipe, herced tub, tj flares

HOW BOUT THEM REDSOX

My Rigrator score 535RRv1.0 BOA 25
93jeepREDSOX is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-18-2010, 08:11 PM   #3
yjripper
1990 YJ Wrangler 

i can get a ford 8.8 pretty cheap but i would need to swap out the 4 lugs for 5 lugs
i was gonna run on stocks until i break and eventually try the axle swap
Unread 02-18-2010, 08:23 PM   #4
beachedjeepyj
1988 YJ Wrangler