Engine Light codes? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Engine Light codes?

Year End Clearance Sale! Save 20%NEW!! HMF 50"-52" light bar mounting brackets!! Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 12-17-2013, 07:30 PM   #1
Zyurazek
1995 YJ Wrangler 

Engine Light codes?

Hello, I am new to this forums. I signed up after reading many topics on here for help with my Wrangler. I am new to the world of Jeeps. I purchased my 95 Wrangler SE 4.0L standard shift a few weeks ago. I had my engine light come on. After getting the codes, I was left a little stumped. The codes came in this order: 12 (battery disconnect), 51 (rich mixture I believe), 21,21 (that is no error, 21 registered twice. I am stumped as to why is flashed twice.), then a 55 which is the end of the codes. Is the 51 and 21 due to an O2 sensor? Does anyone have any idea why 21 would flash twice? I would appreciate any thought! I've searched the topic and there was only 1 other post a couple years ago, but there was no solution.

Thank you!

Zyurazek is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-17-2013, 07:59 PM   #2
Louie4
Powah Injanir

1993 YJ Wrangler 

Sounds like an O2 sensor based on what you've said. You may always want to check the catalytic converter also. If they start to clog they will heat up the sensor and burn it out.

I have a jeep...and it is modified...I win.

YJOTM July 2012
YJOTM February 2014

Louie4's YJ Build
Poison Spyder Fender Install
Warn M8000 Rebuild Adventure
University of Georgia
Louie4 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-17-2013, 08:05 PM   #3
Zyurazek
1995 YJ Wrangler