Door Latch and Post (90 YJ) - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Door Latch and Post (90 YJ)

Savvy Aluminum Gas Tank SkidFS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options! Stainless Steel Door Hinge Pins

Unread 10-11-2005, 10:24 PM   #1
YJ Newby

Door Latch and Post (90 YJ)

Hello All!
Stumbled across this site and it is wonderful! I am new to the Jeep world with my recent purchase of a 1990 Islander. I am steadily learning a few of the little ticks about Wranglers (Carter 2BBL, anyone?) but am overall very happy with it. One thing I noticed, though, is that neither door closes properly. You can firmly shut them, but they flop back "open" about a half inch or so and rattle like crazy while I drive. Is this typical of Jeeps, and if so is there a simple adjustment that I can make to have them close properly? Or, am I in for replacing both latch mechanisms or posts (or both)? Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I have played around with them for hours and cannot figure out how to get them to close properly.

Thanks!

YJ Newby is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-11-2005, 10:32 PM   #2
Stangman516

I have the same problem on my jeep. it is pretty common. Try adjusting the stricker (the round metal peice the door latches around when it closes) mine has a big groove in it because it's so old so the door latches catch in the groove and consequently the door does not shut properly. somebody told me that the stricker is adjustable so you could try loosening it and moving it in or just get a new one. hope that helps

and welcome to the site
l---L--?lllllll?-

()_) ()_)----)_)
White Jeep club member #40
Stangman516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-11-2005, 10:41 PM   #3
YJ Newby

Quote: