Dirty Transfer case Fluid Just changed-leaking from Manual Transmission??? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Dirty Transfer case Fluid Just changed-leaking from Manual Transmission???

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineYear End Clearance Sale! Save 20%Warn, Smitybilt, Engo, Rugged Ridge Winches at CCOR

Unread 11-23-2008, 10:33 PM   #1
ctsvmongo

Dirty Transfer case Fluid Just changed-leaking from Manual Transmission???

Help me please. I am new to Jeep ownership. I have a 92 Wrangler 4.0 5 Speed Manual.

Last edited by ctsvmongo; 02-18-2009 at 10:31 AM.. Reason: updated
ctsvmongo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-24-2008, 09:08 AM   #2
idaholtby
1991 YJ Wrangler 

Your ATF fluid turned dark so quickly because the inside of your newly acquired transfer case had a lot of dirt/sludge in it. Drain and refill the case with fresh ATF. Run it for a couple hundred miles and drain and refill again. Repeat until the transfer case fluid stays clean. ATF is a real good cleaner and it is dissolving the gunk that is in there. It is either repeated flushing, or tear it down and do a full rebuild/clean. As far as the tranny and transfer case fluids mixing, it is highly unlikely. Both units have their own seals and if either were to leak, it would gravity drain through a weep hole at the bottom and not make it between units.
Like you discovered, the transfer case tail shaft seal is a common leaker. You can replace it and clean/deburr your slip yoke for a semi-permanent fix. By design it will eventually leak again. Permanent fix would be to do a SYE conversion, but these are spendy.