Detroit lockers - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Detroit lockers

April Savings Save 5% Off Of Jeep HeadlightsBaseline 4x4 Lifetime Warranty 4340 Chromoly Axle Shaft KiSave on Rancho Products !

Unread 03-22-2015, 02:44 PM   #1
devildog_1960

Detroit lockers

I am new to jeeps. I have bought an 87 YJ . Pros and cons of detroit lockers front and rear. The rear is dana 35 and the front is dana 30.

devildog_1960 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-22-2015, 03:34 PM   #2
pete1991YJ
Web Wheeler

1991 YJ Wrangler 

Welcome to JeepForum, you've just found one of the best jeep sites anywhere!

Cons tend to be the expense and the noise they make in the corners. It doesn't bother me tho.
Pros is that lockers make the jeep nearly unstoppable, I regularly drive thru blizzards and ice and
the trucks I have had with lockers can keep up with snowmobiles and ATV's when the going gets rough.

You might want to seriously consider upgrading your rear axle before putting a locker in the back - the Dana 35 is known to be weak and failure-prone even in stock condition on the street. Most guys put at least a Ford 8.8 out of a Explorer for a rear axle, then they upgrade that with the lockers etc. Hope this helps!
Unread 03-22-2015, 04:50 PM   #3
Tom95YJ
[] Eye'd Jeep Connoisseur

1999 XJ Cherokee 

Quote:
Originally Posted by pete1991YJ