Death Wobble - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Death Wobble

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitTJ 5.25" Speaker Adapters - NalinMFGJK Vent Covers - NalinMFG

Unread 10-06-2012, 09:46 PM   #1
Rabbitsh
1995 YJ Wrangler 

Death Wobble

I been crashed by side, and after that my jeep vibrates a lot when i go for 38 mph+-, a friend told me it is called Death wobble. I was wondering if someone know how can i fix it in my home? or how expensive is to fix it if i cant do it, im not very experienced in mechanics but if someone explain me (better if have pics) i can do it by myself. Thanks

Rabbitsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-06-2012, 10:10 PM   #2
sdotcarter
1995 YJ Wrangler 

99% of Jeep yjs (or Jeeps with leaf springs not coils) DONT get death wobble, and if the do, its from the front end. Because I like to keep posts relevant, check these items:

1. Have you been off roading? Check for a bent rim.
2.check your tire pressure. Smaller tires (stock) = larger psi. In my 32's I run 25 front, 27 back.
3. Bent axle.
4. Ball joints or bearings. (Park truck, push and pull on all the bars that are on the front end.(these include but are not limited to: tie rod ends, and drag link)
5. If wobble during braking, then probably warped rotors.
Edit, also check your lug nuts.

But back to your situation, you got t-boned. Make sure your frames straight and have it checked out at a shop.

Good luck!
sdotcarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-06-2012, 11:53 PM   #3
Michaelgoesrawr
Web Wheeler

1988 YJ Wrangler 

Crashed by your side? What?
Post pictures of your steering set up, skid plate and rear axle and drive shaft. Chances are something is botched there.

Edit:^^ He did a better job. Haha.