Dash Guage ?'s after Motorcraft Carb Swap - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Dash Guage ?'s after Motorcraft Carb Swap

Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge BushingsDisc Brake Kits from ECGS

Reply
Unread 05-18-2006, 07:15 PM   #1
The Buck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Da UP
Posts: 233
Dash Guage ?'s after Motorcraft Carb Swap

I just finished (for the most part) installing a motorcraft carb. Since we have no emissions testing in MI I have pretty much bypassed everything, just have vacuum going to the carb and that's about it (no egr, charcoal canister, etc). However, I have a few dash guage issues.

First, the engine temp guage no longer works. I have circled in this picture what I think is the sensor is or is it the green wire that I pointed to with an arrow?

http://www.imagestation.com/album/pi...?id=2106225040


shown circled in the other picture.

Also, my oil guage before and after the swap read really really high (maxed out). I have changed the oil, is this right?

Also, speedometer always reads 10mph after the swap.


Did I disconnect too much? I still have a bundle of wires, most of which is off the carb.


Also, do I need to do the nutter bypass? Not needed I believe in this case.

Pictures might help for the sensors if anybody has them.

Thanks!!

__________________
Buck
'97 XJ, 2" BB in rear, 30" BFG ATs, C4x4 Tow Hooks
Cheap Walmart Light Mod
Green Jeep Club Member #64
The Buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-18-2006, 10:30 PM   #2
drexelsteve
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Goose Creek SC
Posts: 1,180
the thing u circled is the port where your heater box gets its vacume source
look where your circle meets the pink wires at the harness, at the top left side of teh circle, that little sensor is the temp sensor, looks like it's unplugged to me
__________________
13 Rubi
drexelsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-18-2006, 10:34 PM   #3
drexelsteve
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Goose Creek SC
Posts: 1,180
oil pressure guage fault might be the sending unit, have u replaced it lately? though if its at full max all the time i'd suspect a short to ground of the harness to the sending unit. As for the speedo, it's cable actuated, cable from the cluster to the transfer case, maybe the speedo itself crapped out, the cable crapped out, or the speedo gear inside the transfercase crapped out. If it NEVER moves at all, i'd suspect the speedo itself. Do the nutter if u want, probably won't have any effect though. good luck
__________________
13 Rubi
drexelsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-21-2006, 11:16 PM   #4
The Buck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Da UP
Posts: 233
Thanks for the help, my speedo guage now works and I'm just gonna start plugging wires back in and see what else fires up. Looks like I might need to get a new sending unit for the oil pressure, I haven't touched it yet.

I have been driving it down the road now, just need some warmer weather!!
__________________
Buck
'97 XJ, 2" BB in rear, 30" BFG ATs, C4x4 Tow Hooks
Cheap Walmart Light Mod
Green Jeep Club Member #64
The Buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.