JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   YJ Wrangler Technical Forum (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f12/)
-   -   Coolant Leak - Head gasket or Intake Manifold? (w/pics and video) (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f12/coolant-leak-head-gasket-intake-manifold-w-pics-video-1537156/)

dcocch 06-16-2013 10:16 AM

Coolant Leak - Head gasket or Intake Manifold? (w/pics and video)

I had a previous thread on my coolant leak here. After replacing the temp sensor (and tearing the TBI apart and rebuild it while I was at it), I have concluded that my coolant leak (which now only happens when the YJ is running or right after) is coming from the head gasket or intake manifold. I'm having trouble figuring out which is which...this is my first time deal with a head/intake manifold.

It's an 89 YJ 2.5L. I have replaced the radiator, hoses, and water pump 3 weeks ago. Temp sensor is brand new and tight. I'm going to go rent a compression gauge and check the cylinders this afternoon.

Here's what is going on with pics. Any insight is appreciated!

There appears to be a gap here and you can see a little bit of green coolant in that gap. Is this gap normal? I know the coolant isn't supposed to be there...

http://i1138.photobucket.com/albums/...ps69ba0ef7.png

http://i1138.photobucket.com/albums/...ps1cf02dd6.png

http://i1138.photobucket.com/albums/...psab46b198.png

http://i1138.photobucket.com/albums/...psd56e5356.png

And lastly...the green arrow is pointing to the Intake/Exhaust manifold, correct? The head is located under the valve cover, right? I know this is kind of a dumb question but I've never worked on either so I'm not 100% sure what is where. Yes...noob, I know. The red arrows point to the gasket that appears to be leaking.
http://i1138.photobucket.com/albums/...ps67d33190.jpg

So...any ideas?? I'm thinking I need to replace the intake manifold gasket...

dcocch 06-16-2013 10:24 AM

Video is causing all sorts of crazy formatting.