Clicking from under jeep??? - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 04-01-2016, 11:45 PM Thread Starter
caseypoore

Clicking from under jeep???

So I have built my jeep from the ground up myself; with that being said I have a lot of knowledge about working on it. So my jeep is a 92 2.5 yj with a 3'' lift and sye and triple ujoint driveshaft. Any ways I have been chasing this clicking sound for over a month it will do it if I shift down (not applying the brakes) and if I break hard. Also if im in first and kinda just tap the throttle it will do it; it only does it when the rear axle is under load of slowing down. It is a single click if I am braking hard I can feel it in the floorboard. Also it will do it if I pull into the drive way and the next day backout it will do it. What i have done to trouble shoot jacked up and simulate going down the road, checked u-joints, all internals of rear brakes are new as of last fall and checked my motor and trans mounts everything is tight. Any suggestions will help. The jeep is my daily for now and runs fine and pulls fine this is the only issue.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 04-01-2016, 11:49 PM
dahreno

U joints can make clicking sounds. They are also one of those items you can't tell by looking at them and I'm pretty sure you haven't just replaced them all for the heck of it.
post #3 of 10 Old 04-01-2016, 11:57 PM Thread Starter
caseypoore

The drive shaft came with 3 spicers u-joints when I installed it over summer with the sye. Should have said ive shook the drive shaft and hit a few times with a rubber mallet. Also the the front driveshaft u-joints are new aswell they were **** when I purchased the jeep.
post #4 of 10 Old 04-02-2016, 01:21 AM
timatoe

1990 YJ Wrangler 

Check your front axle shaft u-joints.

Quote:
Originally Posted by George Orwell
We sleep safe in our beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do us harm.