A cheap college kids 4.0 swap... probably - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > A cheap college kids 4.0 swap... probably

USA Standard Chromoly Front Axle Shaft Kits with Dana 30 4Eliminate Hood Flutter!!!Offset Tie Rod Kit From RuffStuff!

Reply
Unread 02-03-2013, 01:20 PM   #16
Viper723
Registered User
1995 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 367
Okay I got a second 4.0 for 450, and I am planning on putting it in tomorrow, but of course my engine hoist is not working now...

__________________
Built not Bought.

"The walls between art and engineering exist only in our minds"-Theo Jansen
Viper723 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-07-2013, 11:37 PM   #17
Viper723
Registered User
1995 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 367
Okay, so I have gotten the engine in and hooked up, and it is running, but after I let it warm up and rev it, when I let off the gas it usually dies. I checked my IAC, TPS, and my o2 sensor, but nothing helped... I put the symptoms up on here and somebody asked if my speedo is hooked up (its not). Apparently this can affect the idle RPMs when you let off the gas...
__________________
Built not Bought.

"The walls between art and engineering exist only in our minds"-Theo Jansen
Viper723 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-08-2013, 05:01 AM   #18
Que89YJ
Web Wheeler
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 13,733
Yes. It is used for idle set on decel. Hook it up.
Que89YJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-08-2013, 12:24 PM   #19
Viper723
Registered User
1995 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Que89YJ View Post
Yes. It is used for idle set on decel. Hook it up.
Thats one thing I never would have thought of haha I go back to school Monday so I will hook it up then...

This engine has about 95k on it too, so there is some blowby, but not pouring out smoke like the other one haha I hooked up the PCV system and it seems to take care of the smoke when its running, but it does leak out when its turned off. Does this sound alright to everyone???
__________________
Built not Bought.

"The walls between art and engineering exist only in our minds"-Theo Jansen
Viper723 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-08-2013, 01:21 PM   #20
Que89YJ
Web Wheeler
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 13,733
Oil leaks out of the ccv?
Que89YJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-08-2013, 02:01 PM   #21
Viper723
Registered User
1995 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Que89YJ View Post
Oil leaks out of the ccv?
Not that I have seen yet, just some white exhaust gases... I think it is within the acceptable margin, the one I put in first was spraying oil out of it haha it was toast...
__________________
Built not Bought.

"The walls between art and engineering exist only in our minds"-Theo Jansen
Viper723 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-13-2013, 04:54 PM   #22
Viper723
Registered User
1995 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 367
I got the computer issues fixed, and she is running like a top now... It has so much more power than the 4 banger haha I love it. Anybody that runs into an issue ask me questions, because I ran into plenty haha
__________________
Built not Bought.

"The walls between art and engineering exist only in our minds"-Theo Jansen
Viper723 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-13-2013, 06:37 PM   #23
Que89YJ
Web Wheeler
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 13,733
What fixed it?
Que89YJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-13-2013, 07:01 PM   #24
Viper723
Registered User
1995 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 367
As per the advice, the speed sensor was not hooked up. Part of the old harness was on the transfer case so I thought it was plugged in. It still didnt work after I did it, plus it was throwing an O2 code, so I replaced the O2 sensor and I finally realized I had to reset the computer and erase the adaptive memory. Once I did that it started to work like it should. I drove it two hours today and it all feels great.
__________________
Built not Bought.

"The walls between art and engineering exist only in our minds"-Theo Jansen
Viper723 is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.