Cam shaft gear bad or good? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Cam shaft gear bad or good?

Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 07-11-2013, 03:25 PM   #1
ForestJeep89
1989 YJ Wrangler 

Cam shaft gear bad or good?

i6 258 in an 89. bought jeep nuttered and running on a 73[I think ] d-remy points dizzy.Various reasons to get rid of that distributor and so I bought a DUI.
Started to install the unit today and peeked into the engine block to inspect the gear on the shaft.No metal shavings or anything, either there or in the oil pan bottom, however the gear looked to be worn. I have zero knowledge on this sort of thing but toward the rear <--- of the gear the teeth ends seem to be more of a v than a u shape like they are in the middle and rest of the assembly.
I then checked the dizzy gear and found slight corresponding wear marks, however the dizzy is only slightly worn whereas the camshaft gear edges seem to be like a 50 degree inclusive bevel.
My fear is that someone may have used a hardened dizzy gear on the motor at one point and then when they sold it threw a points dizzy on instead.
The motor has VERY few miles on it and I guess my question is how does one know exactly when that camshaft gear is dun for?
Obviously I don't wanna throw that DUI on a bad camshaft gear but I just don't know if it is any good or not.Does anyone have a picture of what a bad one looks like or what a good one looks like for that matter?I need to know if im gonna need to replace that camshaft or if ill be ok.

ForestJeep89 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-11-2013, 04:59 PM   #2