Buying a YJ - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Buying a YJ

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineNEW!! HMF 50"-52" light bar mounting brackets!! Year End Clearance Sale! Save 20%

Unread 04-01-2010, 09:48 AM   #1
Leoboy297
1987 YJ Wrangler 

Buying a YJ

I am going to look at a YJ this weekend, and i have been talking to the guy a lot it seems pretty decent its a 1990 4cyl 5 speed 140K, and my question for you guys is, when i asked him about the 4x4 he said exactly "it works, but sometimes it doesnt want to disengage because it's vaccuum opperated". I know that's true, but is he trying to cover something up ? What can i do to test it? I'm new to YJ's. Thanks Guys

Unread 04-01-2010, 09:52 AM   #2
Poke
runtime error = 0

2015 YJ Wrangler 

If your in lower central upstate, I will take a look at it for you.

The fork might be sticking. just sounds like a negotiating point to me , known issues =worth less. a lot of people just bypass the vacuum dico anyway. I don't consider that a big issue.

edit- on second thought.... maybe it doesn't disengage because the jeep isn't done wheeling yet. buy it and listen too it, it will tell you when it's time to leave the trails
Poke is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-01-2010, 09:52 AM   #3
Allen52105
1993 YJ Wrangler 

eather way I would pass on the jeep....just for the fact its carb. that is unless its a GREAT deal. got a pic and info on it?
Unread 04-01-2010, 10:01 AM   #4
Leoboy297
1987 YJ Wrangler 

The Jeep is in good condition besides the drivers side floor, it has a new clutch, new radiator, and new tires.. I dont know i mean i am probally going to look at it.. i just dont know what to do.