Bought used engine...rebuild head? -
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Bought used engine...rebuild head?

50" LED CREE Light Bar Pair With Wiring KitHigh Quality Light Bars at a Lower Price!!!!Jeep Wrangler Bushwacker Flat Fender Flare Sale at Baselin

Unread 08-13-2015, 07:38 PM   #1
Bought used engine...rebuild head?

I bought my first Jeep a few months ago. It's a 1995 YJ 2.5 Rio Grande. It had been run hot and the head was cracked. So I decided to find another engine. I found a 1997 TJ 2.5 (I pretty sure it's from a 1997) that I plan on putting in the Jeep. I only paid $200 for the engine. I've already changed all the sensors over to mine. Here's a few of my questions.. complete newbie here.....

1. I lucked out and it has a Banks header on it...which I plan on reusing. I'm going to put my 95 intake on it. The 97 injectors are grey..and from what I've read..they are 23.2lb injectors. The stock injectors on my 95 are red 19lb injectors. I'm going to change out the O rings anyway. Which injectors would you run? The connectors look the same.

2. I was going to rebuild the head on the original engine. I bought a complete top end rebuild kit before I found out the head was cracked. I have the 97 engine on an engine stand. I don't know anything about the engine. I'm taking a chance with it. I noticed some rust inside the intake runners. But otherwise it don't look bad at all. Would you rebuild the 97 head and check the pistons while you have it out? Or atleast take the head off and check out the internals? I have all new gaskets and head bolts sitting in a box.

3. It also has a helix power tower throttle body spacer on it. Would you run it or not?