Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Body Lift vs. Suspension Lift...Difference? Pics? Rough Country

91K views 14 replies 11 participants last post by  G30SFF250 
#1 ·
Hey Guys,
Don't really know the difference between getting a body lift and a suspension lift. Plan on getting one or the other very soon. Looking to get the 2.5 inch lift. Also, when getting a lift kit... I read about all this other stuff you need to do and replace and whatnot. I am new to the jeep forum and new to fixing up jeeps myself. Learned some from my dad but namely motor work. Never the fun parts like this. Any advice is appreciated. Probably going to go for the rough country. so ANYTHING i need to do to successfully lift my jeep so its reliable is needed. from buying the parts to installing. Thanks!

#3 ·
You first need to read the YJ Tech FAQ up top!
After reading that, you will know the answers to these questions, and ALOT more! :thumbsup:
Nothing like gaining the knowledge for yourself. ;)

But....
A suspension lift changes the suspension, raising the frame off the ground.
A body lift raises the body off the frame which allows fitment of bigger tires.

In my opinion, a body lift should be used only to get that little extra you need for clearance, and never for a first move when it comes to building a rig.

Happy reading.

Oh, and Rough Country lift kits are pretty decent lifts for the money. Not the best on the market, not the cheapest, but right in the sweet spot were you get good parts for a decent price if you have a tight budget.

#4 ·
X2. a body lift should be the "icing on the cake" for a well built rig IMO. for example, get a 4'' lift...RC/RE/BDS etc, and then a 1'' BL and run 33'' tires.

#6 ·
Just my :2c::droolie:

If you are looking to enhance your jeeps performance for more (Off Road Ability) a suspension lift is the way to go.
This allows your suspension move up and down more called articulation. This not only allows for fitment of larger tires