Basic Rusty Panel Repair - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Basic Rusty Panel Repair

Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge BushingsSave at JeepHut on Smittybilt Soft tops

Unread 11-11-2008, 08:04 PM   #1
SteveJcoYJ
1991 YJ Wrangler 

Basic Rusty Panel Repair

Redwind posted a question on repairing steel panels and someone in the thread asked me to do a write-up, i didnt expect a write up so i didnt take before pics but this is what i got. I'm no expert welder, an this was my first panel repair experiment. this may not be the best way to do it, but this was easy for me

I used a hobart arc welder, pull-in pins, a cutting wheel, grinder, and plastic body filler.

I repaired my drivers side floor pan, rocker panel, and the bottom of the tail gate.

I bought a floor pan and rocker panel of JCwhitney, i ordered the CJ7 panels since the YJ was unlisted, they are identical just to clear that up for everyone whos talked to a quadratec rep who says they arent.

First i cut out all the rusted sheet metal in floor panel an cut the rocker panel to an inch above the jeep logo, the same for the tail gate, i trimmed the panels to fit, i ran a few holes threw them an used pull pins, i dont know they tech name, and pulled them in

you have to make sure you grind off all the paint where you plan to weld an around it

i pined the panels into place an welded a bead along the edges of them an then grind them down

then i used plastic body filler an covered the edges of all the panels i welded, i was really generous with the stuff because you grin it down to make a more flush look when your done an painted

i herc'd inside, covered up the ugliness

i'll take pictures again when its painted