bad idle boggy acceleration - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > YJ Wrangler Technical Forum > bad idle boggy acceleration

BLACK FRIDAY SPECIALS!! You asked, we deliver!Rough Country Lift Kits and Parts!XJ Rail Sale!

Unread 09-03-2011, 03:29 AM   #1
acoustal
1987 YJ Wrangler 

bad idle boggy acceleration

hi im new to the jeep forum. this is my first post so here it goes... hope im putting this in the right section.

So this week say 4 days ago i started to notice my 87 yj 2.5 5 speed manual was taking longer than usual to start. the engine would have a long crank then finally start up. If I stopped to run in the store and start it up again it was crank then die. Then start right up the second time I tired. So i went down to the parts store and they said my battery was almost dead. Replaced the battery. Started the same as before but now the engine idles really rough and when i accelerate it feels like it may be running out of gas. speeds up slows down. when i get to the desired speed it runs more smooth. could this be a bad fuel pump or ignition coil

fuel filter is good
new plugs and cap 4 mo. ago
new wires, cap, rotor maybe a year ago
ignition coil 2 years ago.
new exhaust manifold 2 months ago (didnt change the O2 sensor)

any help is appreciated

oh and if i posted this incorrectly pls give pointers

acoustal is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-03-2011, 03:34 AM   #2
Boodyrider
1997 TJ Wrangler 

Fuel pump pressure. Check it at idle and under load.

84 CJ7; frame off restoration in progress.

The technical advice you get from me here is worth exactly what you paid me for it. Warranty issues will be reimbursed at double what you paid me for the advice.