Bad Idle After Team Rush - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 08-23-2009, 09:53 PM Thread Starter
CajunHiker
Registered User
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Conroe
Posts: 141
Bad Idle After Team Rush

So I finally finish my TR upgrade today. Fired up pretty easily, choke engaged idle at around 1400rpm. Sounded nice & smooth. I let it warm up and tapped the gas to disengage the choke. Idled around 700rpm, again no problem. But then after idling for 5 minutes or so, it died. It was almost like it ran out of gas, in fact I did add some gas to the tank and even a capful into to the carb. It took a couple of tries adding capfuls of gas to get it running again, but now, it won't hold an idle. I've just done a carb rebuild and the engine was running okay prior to the TR with the exception of an occasional miss at idle.

Anyone had this happen after a TR upgrade?


Last edited by CajunHiker; 08-24-2009 at 11:39 AM.
CajunHiker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 08-24-2009, 11:41 AM Thread Starter
CajunHiker
Registered User
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Conroe
Posts: 141
Forgot to mention, it's Nuttered and has the Carter carb. Is a carb adjust usually required after doing the TR?
Anyone?
CajunHiker is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 08-24-2009, 11:42 AM
antec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 728
Quote:
Originally Posted by CajunHiker View Post
Forgot to mention, it's Nuttered and has the Carter carb. Is a carb adjust usually required after doing the TR?
Anyone?
what do you have the timeing set at. after my team rush the timeing was off about 5 deg
antec is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 08-24-2009, 11:48 AM Thread Starter
CajunHiker
Registered User
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Conroe
Posts: 141
I didn't recheck my timing. I believe it's around 6d btdc. I'll have look at it again. Like I said, it was running fine for 5 minutes or so.
CajunHiker is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 08-24-2009, 11:52 AM
antec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 728
Quote:
Originally Posted by CajunHiker View Post
I didn't recheck my timing. I believe it's around 6d btdc. I'll have look at it again. Like I said, it was running fine for 5 minutes or so.
what coil are you runing??
antec is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 08-24-2009, 11:56 AM Thread Starter
CajunHiker
Registered User
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Conroe
Posts: 141
Stock coil, didn't change it.
CajunHiker is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 08-24-2009, 12:00 PM
antec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 728
you might not have the voltage to run that cap then i would try to get TFI coil or a better stock style coil li9ke from MSD.
antec is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 08-24-2009, 01:02 PM Thread Starter
CajunHiker
Registered User
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Conroe
Posts: 141
You're gonna have to explain that one to me.
CajunHiker is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 08-24-2009, 01:13 PM
Fernando
Registered User
 
Fernando's Avatar
1987 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Josť, Costa Rica
Posts: 1,440
Make sure you did not plug some vacuum hose by mistake while doing the upgrade, if you have fuel and spark but does not hold an idle, it sounds sensor related to me, you still have the stock carb, which makes me think you may have the spaguetti of hoses there too... make sure you did not unplug something by mistake.

The coil does not have to do with it, you can run the rotor and cap with a stock coil, however you must not gap the plugs with the stock coil because your spark will get weak current wise. If you have the stock coil and gapped the plugs, I recommend you go back to original plug setting.


Quote:
Originally Posted by JeepHammer
I don't mind writing for Fernando because he reads, and re-reads EVERY WORD!... Good to write for someone that actually READS the answer, and takes time to UNDERSTAND what comes back for an answer!
-------------------------------
Fernando is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 08-24-2009, 01:18 PM Thread Starter
CajunHiker
Registered User
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Conroe
Posts: 141
As stated previously, used existing stock coil. New cap, rotor, wires & plugs.
CajunHiker is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 08-24-2009, 01:32 PM
Fernando
Registered User
 
Fernando's Avatar
1987 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Josť, Costa Rica
Posts: 1,440
I edited my post, please take a look


Quote:
Originally Posted by JeepHammer
I don't mind writing for Fernando because he reads, and re-reads EVERY WORD!... Good to write for someone that actually READS the answer, and takes time to UNDERSTAND what comes back for an answer!
-------------------------------
Fernando is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 08-24-2009, 01:42 PM Thread Starter
CajunHiker
Registered User
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Conroe
Posts: 141
Same plugs as I was using before, Champion RFN14LY w/ 0.035" gap. It's been nuttered with most of the emissions related vacuum lines gone.
CajunHiker is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 08-24-2009, 02:41 PM
Fernando
Registered User
 
Fernando's Avatar
1987 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Josť, Costa Rica
Posts: 1,440
When you say it won't hold an idle, does it die as soon as you let go of the throttle? does it stall or something?


Quote:
Originally Posted by JeepHammer
I don't mind writing for Fernando because he reads, and re-reads EVERY WORD!... Good to write for someone that actually READS the answer, and takes time to UNDERSTAND what comes back for an answer!
-------------------------------
Fernando is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 08-26-2009, 07:15 PM Thread Starter
CajunHiker
Registered User
1989 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Conroe
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by antec View Post
what do you have the timeing set at. after my team rush the timeing was off about 5 deg
Hats off to you antec, indeed my timing had drifted with the change of the dist cap. Thanks.
CajunHiker is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 08-26-2009, 10:17 PM
antec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 728
Quote:
Originally Posted by CajunHiker View Post
Hats off to you antec, indeed my timing had drifted with the change of the dist cap. Thanks.
it's b/c of the adapter and the cap. if you every have to change the adapter check the timeing it's something with the way thay make then no two are the same lol. i have worked with a lot of ford 300 lol
antec is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
team rush vs HEI bigorangeyj YJ Wrangler Technical Forum 6 12-19-2009 01:00 PM
HEI or Team Rush?? bjbrowder YJ Wrangler Technical Forum 17 11-19-2009 10:39 AM
Team Rush frustration ScottsYJ YJ Wrangler Technical Forum 8 11-22-2008 06:17 PM
Hei or Team Rush ? Which is best ? mtidwell YJ Wrangler Technical Forum 11 10-17-2008 11:38 PM
team rush NJscott YJ Wrangler Technical Forum 2 06-10-2008 07:16 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome