Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

94 YJ build thread

18K views 114 replies 16 participants last post by  AZdEvilYJ 
#1 ·
I started this thread over a yr ago but didnt really keep it coming. Things were moving very slow. It's been a yr n a half now since i've had the jeep and i've had the time to do a lot more. Now is probably a good time to edit/revive this thread. I hope some of this can help someone out there.
i started out as a complete novice. I'm quite a bit more confident nowadays wrench/fabricating but i'm still a noob compared to many members on this forum. Anyways, here goes nothing...

Here's the jeep 2 days after I bought it...

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

See less See more
#2 ·
The first thing I did was pull the carpet and clean it. Tub looked real nice. minimal rust all over

#3 ·
Throwout bearing went up after 300 miles of purchase. Putting in a new clutch kit became my first job on any vehicle i ever owned...

It was tough. i didnt have too many tools and everything was seized/rusted... I also realized that the new clutch was gonna be just the tip of the iceberg.

#4 ·
i gave her new to me wheels. 31s and no lift. I thought she looked awesome... lol.... that didnt last long.

#5 ·
Put together a new exhaust. flowmaster super 40 w/ hiflow cat. Pretty loud but i like it.

#6 ·

Swapped the old rusted windshield frame for a new one. Ended up destroying a perfectly good windshield and dumping my VIN plate... I'm an idiot

#7 ·
4" RC lift. Had them on for a yr now. They started out stiff but are now pretty good. Flex surprisingly well offroad. Good for the price. But when the time comes i'll most likely upgrade to something else. BDS? SOA? Coils? We'll see...

#8 ·
It always give you great feeling to know that when it works, you did it. If it doesn't work, at least you know that you're responsible. Your Heep looks to be in pretty good shape. A whole lot better than mine when I bought it.
What kind of plans do you have for it? Lifts? New axles?

#9 ·